Ranked: Top 5 Golden Boot winners in Premier League history

    06 Apr 2021 | Premier League | Insight
    Ranked: Top 5 Golden Boot winners in Premier League history
    Cosmin Iftode / Shutterstock

    The Premier League has been home to countless world-class goalscorers over the years, with 24 players winning the Golden Boot – and eight men winning it on more than one occasions.

    But who are the most prolific Golden Boot winners in Premier League history? Below, Forebet ranks the top 5 most efficient EPL Golden Boot-winning seasons of all time – ranked upon goals per game.

    5. Mohamed Salah – Liverpool (2017/18)

    The Egyptian King was virtually untouchable during the 2017/18 campaign. Netting 32 goals in 36 matches, Salah broke the record for most goals scored in a 38-game Premier League season.

    Overall, Salah bagged 44 goals and 16 assists in 52 appearances throughout 2017/18. Despite his 11 goals in 15 Champions League matches, Liverpool lost to Real Madrid in the final.

    Goals per game ratio: 0.89

    4. Didier Drogba – Chelsea (2009/10)

    Drogba only featured in 32 of Chelsea’s 38 Premier League games in 2009/10, yet he still managed to score 29 goals, as well as contributing a whopping 13 assists.

    Wayne Rooney (26), Darren Bent (24), Carlos Tevez (23) and Frank Lampard (22) pushed the iconic Ivorian all the way. However, Drogba was in a league of his own that season.

    Goals per game ratio: 0.91

    3. Cristiano Ronaldo – Manchester United (2007/08)

    When Ronaldo failed to score in his opening seven Premier League appearances in 2007/08, it looked as though he was set for a disappointing individual campaign.

    But following eight braces and one hat-trick, the Manchester United legend ended up finishing seven goals clear of Emmanuel Adebayor (Arsenal) and Fernando Torres (Liverpool) in the Golden Boot charts.

    Goals per game ratio: 0.91

    2. Luis Suarez – Liverpool (2013/14)

    Just like Ronaldo, Suarez managed to score 31 goals in a single Premier League season. However, the Uruguayan took one less game to reach the tally, giving him a slightly better goals per game ratio.

    Suarez even netted ten goals in the space of four games that year. Having scored four against Norwich, he notched up three straight braces against West Ham, Tottenham and Cardiff.

    Goals per game ratio: 0.94

    1. Harry Kane – Tottenham Hotspur (2016/17)

    With 29 goals in 30 matches, Harry Kane is officially the most prolific Golden Boot winner in Premier League history – scoring three hat-tricks along the way.

    The Tottenham striker missed eight games through injury during the 2016/17 campaign, yet he still ended up five goals ahead of Romelu Lukaku (Everton) on the top-scorer leaderboard.

    Goals per game ratio: 0.97