Everything to Know About the Copa Sudamericana

    Everything to Know About the Copa Sudamericana
    29/09/22 1076

    The CONMEBOL Sudamericana, also named as Copa Sudamericana, is an annual international club football competition organized by CONMEBOL since 2002.

    The final is coming up this weekend as Sao Paulo of Brazil take on the Ecuadorian giants, Independiente del Valle.

    Here, we’ll run through everything to know about the Copa Sudamericana.

    History of the Winners

    As expected, and in a similar fashion to the continental tournaments in Europe, there tends to be only a few nations who reign supreme in South America. So far, Argentina are leading the way with the most medals as nine titles have headed back to Argentina with a total of six runners-up.

    Predictably so, it's Boca Juniors who are leading the way with the most titles from Argentina, alongside Independiente. Athletico Paranaense are also up there with two titles as well, with the Brazilian side also being the defending champions of the Copa Sudamericana.

    Other sides like San Lorenzo, Lanus, Arsenal, Defensa y Justicia and River Plate have shone as representatives from Argentina over the years, as San Lorenzo also won the inaugural trophy in 2002.

    Cienciano of Peru, Pachuca from Mexico, LDU Quito from Ecuador, Sante Fe of Colombia and Independiente del Valle from Ecuador have all won titles as well. Sides like Junior from Colombia finished as runners-up in 2018 and the giants of Chile, Colo-Colo, finished second in 2006.

    Top Scorers Down the Years

    There have not been that many notable goalscorers that European fans are aware of from the Copa Sudamericana. Enner Valencia, formerly of West Ham United, did get the top scorer award in 2013, while Eduardo Vargas of Chile holds the record for the most goals in one tournament with 11 goals for Universidad de Chile back in 2011.

    The top scorers of the past two years have both managed to register an excellent 10 goals each, as Agustin Alvarez of Penarol and Braian Romero of Defensa y Justicia won the top scorer award.

    Other Notable Records

    Libertad from Paraguay are the team who have played the most in this competition as they have turned up 13 times. The biggest win in the competition actually came this year as Fluminense defeated Oriente Petrolero 10-1, while the biggest win over two legs saw Colo-Colo win 11-2 back in 2006 over Alajuelense.

    Only one team has appeared in a record of two consecutive finals, as Boca Juniors made it to the 2004 and 2005 final, winning both of them.